Polaris ATV Forum banner

Bigger tires? Axles breaking? Warning from dealer? What should I do?

14K views 37 replies 10 participants last post by  gearheadesw1 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone,
I recently was in my polaris dealer showroom and saw some sweet 29.5" Anarchy (I think) tires mounted on matte black Polaris rims, they looked so sweet, so I inquired about price and he was gonna give me a sweet deal on the set but then proceeded to ask what machine I had and then said to not even bother because I'll snap my axles???? I'm new to aftermarket atv parts and big tires and am wondering what I can (should) do before I mount big tires on my '11 Sportsman 850. What are the best aftermarket axles (for the price) and what other mods should I make. And/or is it even worth it?
I know guys who run 29.5s on stock Canams with out much issue.
Any information would be greatly appreciated. I really would like some big tires eventually but sounds like I should start somewhere else first.
The guy that I talked to at the dealership always is honest with me and always gives me deals.

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

#2 ·
You can run anything you want on stock, but eventually it will go due to rotational forces. Basically the force exerted by the larger tires will be too much for it to handle. When will it go, who knows. Tomorrow or two years is the question. Most likely when in a mud hole. For axles, Voodoo is a solid choice. Forget Gorilla, quality has gone way down (friends opinions). Not positive, but am thinking you will need a lift kit with those wheels as well.

#3 ·
Anyway what should I do?
The guy that I talked to at the dealership always is honest with me
Probably listen to the guy at the dealership.

#4 ·
Start with this Polaris Scrambler 850 and 1000 billet pinion cover ? HD ATV Gear
29.5s will still rub a bit even with HD springs, you will have to max your preloads for sure.