Polaris ATV Forum
Go Back   Polaris ATV Forum > Polaris ATV Technical Discussions > ATV Repair and Maintenance

ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2011, 10:00 PM

Member #15560
New belt loose and slipping

Hey guys I'm new to owning a Polaris. I have been doing a lot of work on my used 2001 Sportsman 400 4x4. I had noticed the new belt was loose that I installed but didn't know how to tighten it so I took it for a ride this weekend to see how it ran. It ran well on flat ground but when it came to small hills or any incline it had no power. It progressively got worse and I had to turn around and end my trip. I could hear the belt smacking the plastic inside the clutch cover and it was smoking bad so I know it is loose. It was a brand new OEM belt. I'm a DIYer so I don't want to take it to a dealer. Is there a way to tighten the belt or do my clutches need replaced? Will a clutch kit like EPI offers fix the problem or will it continue? Thanks for all suggestions or ideas!
Sponsored Links
PolarisATVForums is the premier Polaris ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, So Register, It's Free!
Old 05-31-2011, 01:25 AM
Polaris ATV Legend

Member #6579
Good morning playa and WELCOME!

I would look closely at your motor mounts. Then pull the CVT cover and before you touch anything, look at the belts alignment. It should be straight form front to rear sheaves, not angled at all. Also can you read the letters on belt? It should be installed so you can read them as you stand on the side of the machine.

I would dress the sheaves with a scotch brite pad followed by a good cleaning.

If the belt is shredded, be sure to vac out everything, including the ducting as pieces can find where way back in to the cover and waste your next belt.

Be sure you have installed the correct factory belt.

Good luck,
CW