Polaris ATV Forum
Go Back   Polaris ATV Forum > Polaris ATV Technical Discussions > ATV Repair and Maintenance

ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 10:37 AM
Extreme ATV Enthusiast

Member #19189
Synthetic Winch Rope

Where is the best place to buy Synthetic Winch Rope? Also I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to ATV reparis but Mechanically inclined... How do I swap out the metal cable in my Polaris 2500lbs winch for the synthetic? How does the rope attach to the Spool?
28"X14" ITP Mega Mayhem Tires w/ 14" ITP SS112 Wheels, Dalton Ind. Primary Clutch Spring DPPS-O/BL, Warn Industries 2500lbs RT/XT Winch, BlitzKrueg Amsteel Blue 50' 3/16" Synthetic Winch Rope, BlitzKrueg Winch Saver, Pure-Polaris Lock & Ride Low Black Windshield, Pure-Polaris Lock & Ride Front Cargo Box, Pure-Polaris Lock & Ride Backrest, Pure-Polaris Hand Guards, Pure-Polaris Heated Hand Grips Warmer Kit, Pure-Polaris Glacier II Plow System w/ 52" Snow Blade, Pure-Polaris Sportsman Trailerable Cover, DDM Tuning 6000K 35 Watt HID Lighting, DIY Three Headlight High Beam Modification via Waterproof Relay
Sponsored Links
PolarisATVForums is the premier Polaris ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, So Register, It's Free!
Old 11-21-2011, 10:50 AM
Polaris ATV Junkie!

Member #5212
I've had good luck with the $50 dollar ropes from Amazon with free shipping. I use them often and they've held up well. Also try your local dealers.

When you unspool the cable and get to the end of it, you will see exactly how it's done. There is a llittle hole in the drum that the cable goes through and an allen screw that tightens down on it.