Polaris ATV Forum
Go Back   Polaris ATV Forum > Polaris ATV Technical Discussions > ATV Repair and Maintenance

ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2010, 08:47 AM

Member #3196
2002 sportsman 500ho oil leak

hey everyone, have another addition to the boards, i have a 2002 sportsman 500ho, yellow, has around 540 miles on it now (sat around a lot) i recently got a bad oil leak in it, would leave huge puddles on the floor where it sat, after looking at it several times to try to see where the leak was coming from i found a seep hole below the water pump housing, it was seeping from the hole very slowly but was enough to leave puddles if is sat a few weeks, after checking with local parts place i got (3) seal that go to the water pump assembly and got them replaced using a special tool (parts place rented it to me) was fairly easy to replace, i'm not an amateur mechanic, shady tree maybe but most mechanics are common sense, after removing the gaskets i noticed the water pump shaft was rusty (probably from the machine sitting alot) so i turned the motor over while holding fine sand paper on the shaft to remove the rust. got it all back together now and no oil leak! wooohooo! hopefully it will hold up, doesn't seem to be to good of a design to me. hope this helps someone. happy 4-wheelin!
Sponsored Links
PolarisATVForums is the premier Polaris ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, So Register, It's Free!
Old 03-21-2010, 09:08 AM
Extreme ATV Enthusiast

Member #3743
glade you fixed it and yes it is a poor setup on the pump seal
heel clicker
Warn 2500 puller outter
SS108's
29.5's Laws skinny/fat
rubber down custom intake
homemade exhaust snorkel
rad. relocated up top
chains on front & rear A arms
swaybar removed
working on quads for 12 yrs let me know if i can help
"Hold my beer and let me show you how to really f#%* shit up"