Polaris ATV Forum
Go Back   Polaris ATV Forum > Polaris ATV Technical Discussions > ATV Repair and Maintenance

ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 03:25 PM

Member #4161
Unhappy Polars Sport 2 Stroke stopped working

Hey guys!, This is my first time posting an add on here so i hope this goes well. I bought a 1999 polaris sport 2 stroke late last week. It was a little rough but i got a good price for it. the thing ran fine but the issue i had when i bought it might have caused it to stop working. First thing is that there is no key to turn th ething on and off all i use to shut it off is the handlebar on-off-on switch. I know in my 400L there is stuff associated with the wiring as a "fail-safe" tht will shut the thing off if there is any issues... oil low.. overheating etc. but i was not sure and still am not sure if it is a problem. Well the thing was running fine. started up within 2 pulls of the string and ran great. One issue he had was that he didnt like the opil pump due to previous problems with a jet ski so he decided just to mix the fuel. We were running the quad (no more than 10 minutes) then the thing cut off and it seemed to be very hot and the radiator fan was not working. i filled th ething up with water the night before and it seemed the be just fine other thn the thing leaking out some weird white liquid from a drain hose commin off the motor. It has spark! it has Fuel! Why wont it start!!! it does turn over fine and i realized that the oil pump float didnt seem to work (not sure why it was cutting on in the first place) and the spark plug seemed to be very dry right after it cut off PLEASE HELP!!!! thanks!!
Sponsored Links
PolarisATVForums is the premier Polaris ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, So Register, It's Free!
Old 04-07-2010, 04:15 PM
Polaris ATV Legend
Premium Member

Member #193