Polaris ATV Forum
Go Back   Polaris ATV Forum > Polaris ATV Technical Discussions > ATV Repair and Maintenance

ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 01:28 PM

Member #7953
2006, Polaris Phoneix 200

I'm no mechanic, but I'll do anything on my own to save money.

I've been having starting problems with my ATV lately. I bought a new spark plug, installed it, bought a new battery and installed that too. Cranks real clean now. I haven't started it in about 5 months since I use to have a bad battery.

Now that it starts and idles, if I try to press the gas even a little, it cuts off. (It has a full tank of gas, also). [But that's the problem. Press the gas even by a centimeter, it'll cut off.]

Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
PolarisATVForums is the premier Polaris ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, So Register, It's Free!
Old 10-07-2010, 01:45 PM
Super Moderator
Premium Member

Member #230
Im sure your carb is very dirty from letting fuel sit inside of it for 5 months. Was any type of fuel stabil used?

You have two options basically.