Polaris ATV Forum
Go Back   Polaris ATV Forum > Polaris ATV Technical Discussions > ATV Repair and Maintenance

ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 09:58 AM

Member #7876
500 sportsman boggs and misfires

I got a 2003 sportsman 500 SE. It starts and idles fine but when you give about 1/8 feeder the motor boggs and misfires. In reverse it almost dies out but when I activate the overdive button it improves but not enough. The plug seems good, the TPS on the bar has 1/8 clearence. I drained the carb bowl and all seamed fine. Tomorrow when the stores are open I will pick up a new plug and fuel filter. Any other ideas??
Sponsored Links
PolarisATVForums is the premier Polaris ATV Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see these ads, So Register, It's Free!
Old 10-11-2010, 05:47 PM

Member #8102
Mr. Harley Rider.

I am new to Polaris and just bought a used 1996 Sportsman 500 with the same problem as you describe. From the little research I have done. Polaris ATV engines use the same technology for years. Some say it's rock solid, some say it's junk. My machine has 800 miles on it and the cam is wore out already. The exhaust lobes are gone. Here is a video of my machine running. does your machine sound like this?
Old 10-11-2010, 06:29 PM
Polaris ATV Junkie!

Member #8052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrgearhead View Post
I am new to Polaris and just bought a used 1996 Sportsman 500 with the same problem as you describe. From the little research I have done. Polaris ATV engines use the same technology for years. Some say it's rock solid, some say it's junk. My machine has 800 miles on it and the cam is wore out already. The exhaust lobes are gone. Here is a video of my machine running. does your machine sound like this? YouTube - 1996 Polaris Sportsman 500 runs bad. Help! What am I missing.wmv