Polaris ATV Forum banner

2007 sportsman 800 efi front diff

7K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  FPD218 
#1 ·
New to this forum and to my 800 stealth black ATV. I have little experience wrenching on atvs but know my way around a workshop. I have owned my bike for about a year and used only for plowing snow in Wisconsin so far. I had it out this weekend to mount the Ground hog max disc tiller on it over the weekend and noticed a large puddle which I thought was melting snow. Closer look and I have 3 of 5 of the front diff housing bolts were snapped off and one was loose enough to turn by touch. I was able to reverse one out and replace it and I replaced the loose one but the other two are blocked by the frame and will require me to remove the mounting bolts and pull the entire unit. Two questions: Am I looking at a larger issue here, why would these just snap? Is this a simple enough task or should I take it in to my dealer?
I sincerely appreciate any help/advice.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
F the dealer if you can wrench!!!! They'll probably just sell you a new diff $$$$$$$$. They snapped because the loosened. I've heard of this before. Pull the diff out and try to get the remaining piece of the bolts out. Good luck keep us updated.

#4 ·
Thanks for the responses, I will let you know how it goes. While I have it apart, I'm pretty sure from some different videos I've seen the drain plug is on the bottom but covered by the skid plate for the plow, is there any reason I shouldn't drill an extra hole in the skid plate to make changing the diff fluid more accessible? It would seem an extra bit of work to remove the plate each time for one hole I can add while it's off.

#5 ·
Definitely I would drill to access the drain plug.

Reactions: Corbett1973
#7 ·