New guy needs help! - Polaris ATV Forum
ATV New Members If you are new here please post in this section so everyone can get to know you. This will be a kind of icebreaker section for new members.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-20-2019, 08:00 AM Thread Starter

Unhappy New guy needs help!

Hello all! My name is Rob. I am new to the ATV world. I have been working on cars my whole life, but never messed with ATVs much. So here is my story.

I recently picked up a 2009 Sportsman 850xp EPS for what I thought was a good price $3,500. I am slowly starting to regret it. It ran ok when we looked at it. It was a little rough, but the owner said that it sat for a while and the gas probably turned. Fair enough.

Once I got it home the problems began. I had a check engine light and the machine would fall on its face and stall. Pulled the air filter out and cleaned out the air box. It had a nice big mouse nest in it. Checked the engine code and it came back for throttle cable being out of whack.

I put a new air filter in it, cleaned out the airbox, adjusted the throttle cable, and put new plugs in it. Fired it up and it runs a million times better. No CEL and it idles smooth now. I had the side plastics off when I was doing the plugs and I didn't put them back on right away.

So last night I take it for a ride to get it up to temp. I warmed it up slow and then got on it a bit. I noticed out of the corner of my eye a red glow. The head pipe on the front cylinder was burning red hot. When I let off the throttle I noticed a small flame around the pipe. It went out rather quickly but sort of startled me. I expect the pipes to get hot but not hot enough to catch the matting around the pipe of fire!

The machine has plenty of power. It pulls the front end with my large backside (325lbs) on it and is a beast. I would assume that that cylinder is running lean to be that hot.