2002 Polaris Sportsman 700 AWD - Polaris ATV Forum
ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 07:07 AM Thread Starter

2002 Polaris Sportsman 700 AWD

Hey guys, I am not a mechanic and am just trying to figure this out with online searching so please bear with me if the wording on some parts isn't right.

I have a 2002 Sportsman 700 which I got used. I have tuned it up a bunch so it runs pretty nice now and replaced bearings and stuff so it handles great.

The issue is, I am not totally sure if the AWD is working. I have looked into how the system works and when I turn on the AWD switch, the light does go on which would indicate it is working. When I look under the ATV at the hub between the front CV shafts there is a set of wires connecting to it. From my reading that is to energize it to engage the AWD. One of the wires is broken off though so I am not sure how it would be engaging it. I did test touching that wire to the hub there and if the AWD switch is on, it will spark so I know the wire itself is working.

What I am wondering is, how is the AWD working if the wire is broken. Another thing I noticed the other day is the speedo doesn't work. I went to check the cable for it and noticed that there is no speedo cable, at least from what I can tell. I don't see it on the wheel or up at the instrument column so I am wondering if one of the previous owners disconnected it and removed it, maybe it was broken.

I found sites that say the AWD works through the speedo so you don't engage it when the wheels are spinning so is it possible the AWD was overridden to always be on since that cable was removed? Would that actually work with the second cable disconnected anyway?