2004.5 sportsman 400 no spark - Polaris ATV Forum
ATV Repair and Maintenance Having problems? Doing a rebuild? All Repair/Maintenance Discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 05:06 AM Thread Starter

2004.5 sportsman 400 no spark

I recently bought a 2004.5 sportsman 400 from an old timer. It had 304 miles on it. So I couldnít pass it up. About a month after I bought it I was riding with my buddy and it died after going thru some mud. I changed the plug in the field and still not starting. Pulled the plug back out to see if I could see a spark and nothing still. I got towed home and started reading up. My background is in residential hvac service not vehicles but I understand electrical systems and can read diagrams and use a meter. How hard could it be. Long story short I ended up changing the stator and pulse coil. I didnít use a oem stator as the price is ridiculous. I went with one from rm stator. Put it all back together turned it over and zilch. It turns over just no spark. I was sure that i was going to be victorious. I should have started tracing back from the plug to the ignition coil and went from here before buying the stator. But, the resistance I got across the pulse coil (w-wr) was 168 ohms and it was supposed to be 97. I notice the recoil handle was not completely seated the day I got towed home. When I pulled the recoil cover off it had a bit of moisture, rust and a few tiny spring looking things that I still donít know where they cam from. So I changed it.
Now that this repair isnít working I am looking to the ignition coil. I read resistance across primary to ground last night and I have 0 ohms. I still need to pull the front end plastic off to really get the ignition coil off the machine and check the plug wire. I am just looking to see if anyone else has any advise of where/what else to look at. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement