2002 Soortsman 700 - exhaust blowing thru rad - Polaris ATV Forum
Polaris Sportsman Discussions for the Polaris Sportsman 90, 300, 355, 400, 450, 500, 550, 600, 700, 800, 850

2Likes
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Unread 02-12-2019, 07:16 PM Thread Starter

Garage
2002 Soortsman 700 - exhaust blowing thru rad

Hello all, I am new to the Polaris world, but not ATVs or dirt bikes. So new to this site with my New to me Polaris.

So I just bought a 2002 Polaris Sportsman 700 Twin for cheap as it is in need of repair.
Has been blowing rad fluid out of holding tank. I figured it was a blow head gasket.

Bought it anyways, brought it home and tried to get the rad cap off but it was stuck which was strange. It would turn, but not pull out. I had to pry it out. It seemed to be baked into there. No fluid visible below rad cap. Wiped off the underside of the cap and it was black with what looked like exhaust residue. Wiped out the inside of the tube and was all black as well. So I can only assume it ran like this for a while.

With the cap off, I turned the key to start it to see if it would pump any rad fluid and all I could see was exhaust pumping through and out of the rad cap holder pipe.

So head gasket is blown.
(I HAD TO UPDATE THE LINK)

In hoping that the head is still ok, I am considering repairs. I cannot start taking it apart for 3-4 weeks, but just thinking about what needs to be done.

I do not know how long it was run like this, but had to be a while due to the black and baked rad cap. So damage could vary, but thinking
- new rad cap
- new thermostat
- gasket kit

Motor runs well, does not smoke oil and no water in oil, unless it was change after it failed, which I cannot verify. Guy said it smokes a bit of blue when first started but stops when warm. Now that could be a choke issue or warn rings.