Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
03 Predator 500 Restoration

Hey guys, newbie here. I picked up a kickass project for Christmas vacation tinkering. My neighbor sold me his 500 for $250!! The scoop is that his brother got it from a guy that raced it. Probly a bad thing but i have hi hopes that i can return this machine to a dependable daily rider. As i progress with project Penetrator, i figured we could post some findings.....besides its more fun with more involvement and everyone is goin on vacation but me! I think my pics posted in here somewhere, so take look. Pulled carb yesterday and man....it had green gunk all over everything and couldn't get most of it but cleaned what i could, 1200 wet sand and bread ties. "may need new carb" Anyway, checked valves and all were spec but rt side exhaust was about .036. managed to get it fired up and its idling hi but what concerns me is that every 20-40secs. it backfires out the exhaust, keeps running though. i have no idea what jets to replace, or what size they are. Can i mic them? Also that was the first day working on it and i know there are a lot of possibilities, this morning i will hook air to the cylinder to see if I can hear the exhaust valve leaking.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Penetrator day 2