Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
actually,its whippin me and my wallet.
I hope somebody can help,Ive done search after search and I'm drawing blanks.Here's the story:03 sportsman 90 ,has new battery,new stator,cdi box,starter relay,plug,carb,plug wire.Bike wont start! It has always run good,until one day it died and wont start.It turns over ,and has spark.
Ive tried jump starting it,nothing.Starter fluid,nothing. Im lost!Ive pulled the kill switch,it shuts off spark,and when plug the kill switch in,it sparks.So I know it's doing it's job.The left brake lever is doing it's job,too.

I'm totally lost at this point.

ps.I'm not a mechanic,have limited tools.No volt/amp testers either,and I wouldn't know how to read them anyway. please help

·
Registered
186 Posts
Sounds like you have covered some bases here but are absolutely sure its getting fuel?

·
Registered
186 Posts
Sometime the most obvious solutions are starring you in the face and are never seen.

·
Registered
58 Posts
I worked on one of these at school this year. We cleaned the carb and even then it was still a bear to start. Do you have access to a compression tester? Does the engine spin over faster than normal? Try putting a little fuel in the cylinder through the spark plug hole, put the plug in and see if it fires. Maybe a seal went bad.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I don't have a compression tester.Guess I could get one.
It does seem to be cranking a little faster than normal.
how much fuel should I put in the cylinder? oh, and what happens if it does fire? I guess that means its not getting fuel?

·
Registered
721 Posts
I wouldn't do anything else until you run a compression test. Go down to your local Advance Auto, etc and get a tester. With the correct adapter threaded into the spark plug hole, hold the throttle wide open and crank the engine over several times. Report back with your result.

·
Banned
2,959 Posts