Polaris ATV Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from Knoxville,

I am repairing a magnum to use at work. I am a forester and need the machine to get me back into some pretty remote spots in rural TN. It is in really good shape despite its sordid past.

This quad caught on fire because the rear caliper was seized and some guys rode it anyway, catching the fluid on fire and burning some of the chain guard (very minor fire). It then sat for like 10 years in a barn. I grabbed it because my boss didn't want to buy me a new one, so I decided to fix this one. I am an ASE certified mechanic, just not a quad mechanic. I have worked on vehicles for over 20 years, and while I'm no whiz kid, I'm not a complete idiot either.

Here's what I have done so far:

• Replaced the whole fuel system
  • rebuilt the carb; engine runs like a top
  • new oil and filter, coolant, etc.
  • replaced tires
  • rebuilt all three calipers
  • replaced all lines
  • rebuilt the master
This is where my problem lies:

I bench bled the MC, then I power suctioned the brakes at the bleeders and got good fluid flow through everything. I then manually bled the brakes, starting at the back.

I get good flow, not squirting, but good solid flow from the calipers. However, the brake lever itself is soft and does not hold the front brakes. I can see the calipers moving, and holding pressure, but just not enough.

The foot pedal will of course stop the bike because the mechanical portion of the caliper has been adjusted properly. This means that I was able to test ride the quad, and make sure everything else works, which it does.

However, I just can't seem to get the front brakes to work, despite no air coming out of the bleeders. Does anyone have any ideas? Should I just replace the master cylinder?

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
191 Posts