Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I have an awesome 96 Sportsman 400. Hunts like a animal and has for 17 years. This year, the carb. drips gas out of the bottom with the engine off unless you turn the gas valve off. ( It will empty the tank on the garage floor if you forget to turn the valve off.) I was told by a Polaris mechanic that
"the needle valve is worn out and not seated."
Is this an easy fix by me and does this sound like the truth.????

Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
526 Posts
We got our carb kit in last week and got it off the bike yesterday. Is it easy I am not sure yet but after about 10 hours of studying diagrams, shop manual and the parts in the kit I am ready to learn how hard it is soon. I need to teach the kids how to do it so I am studying it more than required so I do not look stupid as the teacher. :)

These last days of fall weather ends this week and today we have gates and fencing to finish up so the mini horses will have access to a roof over their heads before freezing rain time. :)

In our kit the seat/o-ring and needle came together is a separate bag inside the bad with the rest of the parts.

·
Registered
16 Posts
It is pretty easy to do.

It could be the needle not seating or the floats are sticking. Which in turn making fuel come out the overflow.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
3 Posts
I just did a carb inspection and cleaning, and it is not that bad of a job. I would plan on about a day if you have never done it before. I would also recommend a new fuel filter. I also run Sea Foam fuel treatment in gas on regular basis to keep things clean. Good luck!

·
Registered
15 Posts