Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new here. My son and I have some experience fixing and flipping atvs but mostly Honda. Bought this 96 Trailblazer knowing it had a bad crank seal and carb issues. Bike would run but poured fuel out of the pull start assembly. Replaced the crank seal on that side. Now it will run for a minute with no fuel coming out of the pull start assembly but it floods out and shuts off. When the carb is disconnected from the intake and motor side, if you turn the fuel petcock to on it pours gas out of both end of the carb. We've been through the carb, made sure the arms that the floats push on are level with the float bowl. Still have the same problem. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
8,562 Posts
If the engine will start with the carb off the intake, the crankcase is full of gas - remove the drain plug (#20 in the schematic) to drain the crankcase, fix the carb and try again.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I didn’t mean that it starts with the carb disconnected from the intake. I’m just saying that if the carb is disconnected and you turn the petcock to the on position, with the bike not running, fuel pours out of both the air box side and the motor side of the carb. I just noticed the common carb issues thread and I’m now wondering if it’s the float needle and seat. Never seen this issue with Honda. Or maybe it’s a typical 2 strike thing. More familiar with 4 stroke.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That’s what I’m trying to figure out. Does this seem to be the float needle and seat need replacing?

·
Registered
8,562 Posts