Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I am new to this whole forum thing and I do not know if this right place to be asking these questions but here is goes it is a long story, sorry in advance lol,
Okay I have a 1998 Polaris sportsman 500 it ran great then it was stolen three years ago and I ended getting back but when we found it the individual crashed it into a ditch it was submerged in water. I cleaned everything out and it would not run, so I called the local Polaris dealer and they told me to unplug the CDI box, the black wire and see if it runs, and it did so I wired in a taggo switch in there and for the last three years that is how I allowed it to start and that is how I shut it off. have not had a problem. two weeks ago I got it stuck in the snow and like an idiot I got it stuck and was horsing the crap out of it. I finally got it by using the winch and realize it was very loud and running like crap but it idles great. So I tore thought it was backing firing because it was leaking exhaust so I put all new exhaust on it and it was doing the same thing, so I checked the spark that was fine, I cleaned the carb and that was fine, so I started doing research and found that people are saying it is the exhaust Lobe 100 percent just change it that will be my problem. but wont I run into problems one I open up the motor? and everyone is saying to replace the camshaft with the HO 2001+ camshaft... but then some people say that I will have to change the carb from the stock one to a 2001+ 40mm carb... I just don't know so I figured I would post on this forum and see what you all have to say. I know it is old but it ran great I have replaced a lot of stuff on it to just junk it... help please

·
Registered
192 Posts