Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I am relatively new to atv's. I just purchased my wife her first atv. It is a used polaris sport, 1999 model, automatic, 2 stroke. The gentleman that I purchased it from delivered it to my house. I test drove it and it ran great. My wife and I both rode it for about an hour and then turned in for the evening. Fast forward six days and it won't start. The electric start doesn't work and didn't when I purchased it. I knew that going into it. However, the pull start worked great for me when I purchased it six days ago. Now, it seems as if it's not getting any fire. I pulled the spark plug and it looked to be fouled. I cleaned it and checked the gap, reinstalled it and still, no fire. It's not even acting like it wants to turn over. Granted, it has sat for six days but I don't think that is the problem. 6 days is a relatively short amount of time. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with it, but it did sit through 2 pretty bad thunder, rain, and lightening storms. I've tried choking it, cleaning the plug, and thats about it. Any ideas of what I should do next? Thanks in advance for the advice.

·
Registered
113 Posts
If your plug was indeed fouled, replace it! Cleaning a fouled plug will not help even if it looks great...replace your plug and you should be fine...if not, let us know and we can diagnose further.

·
Registered
1,565 Posts
What kinda shape is the battery in??? Could also check if the kill switch is on run. Let us know what's up.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I ordered a new NGK plug for it today. Hopefully that will solve the problem. The kill switch was on run. The battery seems to be in fine shape. The lights all work. I would check out the electric start but of course it is messed up. I will be replacing that in the future as well. I will keep you updated tomorrow after I change the plug.

·
Registered
2,352 Posts