Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Polaris Sportsman 500
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My bike has had a hard 5400 miles put on it. I understand it is probably due for the cam but it dosnt show signs of the cam failure. Anyways the problem im having is it revs fine, no sputters or anything, but after a while falls on its face.
Please understand im new to this thing. Ive rebuilt the carb thoroughly and put a new air filter on it. Could it possibly be the fuel pump?

·
Registered
198 Posts
Can you clarify “after a while falls on its face”? Does this mean after riding for 20 minutes it loses power, or every time you hit the throttle after a few seconds it bogs down? If the latter, I’d start by re-checking the float adjustment. Since you recently rebuilt it, you may have created a situation where the float bowl is being drained and it’s starving for fuel. They’re pretty touchy in this area. It needs to be correct, and the measurement procedure is a little odd. It’s described in detail in the service manual.

·
Registered
198 Posts

This is the only manual I have handy at the moment. It’s different year, but the procedure is the same. Maybe someone else can confirm the measurement for him?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its every time i punch the throttle, then it bogs down. Ill have to go through and check the float adjustments then. Is there a way i could do it without any special tools?

Cause id love to get this thing running right for the spring riding season. Also i would like to thank you for the speedy response!

·
Registered
89 Posts
Have you checked valve clearances and cam timing both can cause these problems as it gets older valve clearances get tighter and the chain stretches retarding the valve timing

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6