Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a 2002 magnum 325 4x4 in a trade, the guy said it will start and run for 2-3 seconds and die . sometimes it will backfire out the exhaust .
This is what I've done so far , replaced plug, cleaned carb, checked and adjusted valves, unplugged black wire to cdi box, replaced stator and I just ordered coil and cdi box .
Has anyone had this issue or any ideas what might be wrong ?
A little background on me , I was a skidoo Tec for 7 years and been to school for just about every small engine ever made so I know a few things about motors . I work as a millwrite now on do this kind of stuff after work for a hobby . Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
4,025 Posts
Compression is be fine. Spec is 50-90 with the decompression system. How much fuel is in the tank? Have you tested the fuel pump? When the fuel pump on my 325 quit it would run fine with a full tank but as the fuel level dropped to around 1/2 or lower. It would starve for fuel and die. If I let it sit for a while enough fuel would trickle into the carb that it would start again. Then run out since gravity wasn't enough to keep up with the demand.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Fuel is not the issue, plug gets fouled wet. Will start for 2-3 seconds even if you put gas in carb , choke it whatever. fuel is flowing good from pump. It sometimes backfires bad if you crank it long enough.
I need to look into the exhaust , I'm thinking it may be plugged as I found a nest in a few other places.
I will take that apart tomorrow and see .

·
Premium Member
4,025 Posts