Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So im having a slight problem with this xplorer that i bought recently. When i bought it, the battery in it didnt work. The owner said that the electronics worked last time he had a good battery in it.

i purchased a battery and threw it in there, but nothing. Im getting power to this top post next to the battery, but not the bottom one that i have disconnected in the photo.

is this because of the 20amp breaker? its my first time owning a polaris.

·
Registered
1,891 Posts
it looks like that is the starter relay..if it is it may be shot.....also get a scotch pad an clean all them cable ends...also there is one wire combined with the top battery cable that looks like some insulation is gone and has green corrosion....(could be just the picture) also clean the bullet connectors

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
it could be shot, the previous owner said that the starter was iffy and would only work sometimes.

are there any good websites to buy OEM parts?

·
Registered
1,891 Posts
you can get the starter relay non oem..its about 12.00 you can try a parts store like Napa..or a tractor dealer..also there is a place lots favor here for starters an related items....cant think of name.....

but you need to really clean them contacts an cables up

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
can the solenoid be bypassed for the time being so that i can test to make sure the other electronics work?

·
Registered
1,891 Posts
the relay does not power any thing but the starter....that wire I said may look corroded may be you feed to lights an speedo...it may be corroded in the to battery cable also where its connected the top cable..with the smaller wire going into it....

but they need cleaning BIG time

·
Registered
4,243 Posts