Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I just got a 2003 trail boss 330 the other day, today when i took her out she was running GREAT for a couple hours, im very happy with this quad!! That being said i did encounter a little problem. toward the end of my ride she started bogging down and backfiring (bad) if i got on the throttle anymore than 25%, at 50% throttle it would really start to backfire and felt like it was going to die off. I managed to limp her back home and shes running fine at idle. A few things to know are
1: the battery was getting pretty weak even befor this :thinking:
2: i swamped her out pretty good but theres no mud/water/debris in exhaust or airbox
3: the guy i got her from supposidly "cleaned the carb" (whether or not he reassembled it correctly i havent checked yet)

This all being said I would like to add that Im a heavy equipment mechanic but would just like to see if anyone has had to deal with this and knows a good place to start. I figure ill start goin thru her tommarro but if anyone can give me a good lead Id greatly appreciate it as im not familiar with this model (yet:)) not to mention two heads are always better than one!

thanks in advance for any help! :beerchug:

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
ok so now that shes cold and dry, the problem seems to have gone away. Im kinda leaning towards electical, does the rev limiter on these only inact on reverse? I dont have the manual yet so id really appreciate the help from any of the seasoned veterans out there

·
Registered
6,903 Posts
i would probably start and check the carb anyway, especially if you are a mechanic. you just never know. check and make sure the jets look clean, bowl, ect is all clean and free of debris, and reassembled correctly.