Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Machine got hot at one time. Also Pull Starter was broke. Stator wires were broke and repaired-tested ok at .4 ohms each (Yellow to Yellow). I am trying to determine if bad CDI, Voltage Regulator or Stator/Exciter Coils. I hooked up a snapon computer to obtain the attached trace with 4 lines. Key on (Red/White) and Power to the CDI both appear around 14 VT but with many spikes. The input to the coil GREEN shows negative output to the primary side of the coil where I would have expected positive. It also exceeds 50 volts negative at times (off the scale). The exciter coil BLUE did not show consistent 12 volts (not sure if it should be)?

Can anybody shed some insight as I am new to looking at this type of output. Bad Voltage Regulater causing all of this? Would a bad CDI cause the no start? Are the voltages shown normal? TIA Norm

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Model and Vin

The number of our machine is 4XACH50A*4B395435 while some digits were difficult to see the S/N looks to be 395435. Would this make it an early or late (2004.5) model?

The model is Sportsman 4X4 500 HO

·
Registered
4,829 Posts
The VIN is actually 4XACH50A54B395435 - it was purchased 09/30/2004 - it is shown as a SPORTSMAN 500 HO BLUE '04.5, but the date of build is not given - it has a model designation of A04CH50AS - the warranty expired 3/30/2005 - there have been no recalls on the product.

Only the build date can determine if it early or late, but typically 04 is early and 04.5 is late

The subject is "2004.5 Dies when hot. Elec trace help needed."

Let's start at the beginning; how long does it run before it dies? How long does it have to set before restarting? Was the problem sudden or has it been happening, but is now worse? Did you add any accessories to it or have any service performed just before it started happening.

The more details the better.

·
Registered
5 Posts