Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to this whole forum thing, and hope I'm posting this in the right place... Anyway, I bought a 2006 sportsman 500 HO of a friend of mine this past spring and I've loved it so far. So I've started to put some time and money into it. I installed an EPI clutch kit, K&N filter and a DG pipe on it. Was planing on doing a jet kit on it this coming weekend, but I think this misfiring issue is bumping that to the back of the line. The issue started a couple weeks ago when I was on the trail and hit a puddle going pretty fast, and it immediately started misfiring, but cleared up rather quickly so I continued on my ride. Any time I came to a puddle or water crossing it would again misfire. I brought it home and went through some of the more easily accessible connections with some dielectric grease, started it up, and it seemed to run fine around my house. Took it out again this past weekend and it ran fine for a few minutes, but then anytime I gave it a lot of throttle it would misfire. I tried to go easy on it but it continued to get worse until it would barely go up even small inclines. Took it home and the next day it seemed to be running fine. My long-winded point is, 1: it seems to happen wet 2: it seems to get worse hot.
I'm just hoping someone has a good starting place for me, since the idea of chasing a loose ground wire or a tiny split in a wire jacket isn't necessarily my forte.
Thanks for any help

·
Registered
271 Posts
Water maybe getting past spark plug boot and shorting plug out. Pull plug boot off and look down it for moisture or crud. Be a great time to replace spark plug also but use compressed air to blow out debris BEFORE removing plug. Always replace with exact brand and number on plug. A dab of dielectric grease inside the boot will keep the connection clean and aid the removal of boot next time. A place to start anyways...

·
Registered
5 Posts