Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going to check my front mount when I get home for the creeping issue but didn't know if the creeping and loss of top speed could be related. Bike has 560 miles and 115 hours. Pulls hard in low and high until about 40 then the speedo and acceleration seem to fall off. My old mans '00 500 just keeps pulling. Bike has a brand new gates belt on it from right before I bought it. Runs perfect. Idles perfect. I will pull the cover off when I get home too and check for anything obvious but I'm pretty new to the CVT world. Also going to check and see if the belt spins with it idling in neutral. Any advice or links to direct me in the right direction?

·
Registered
2,402 Posts
Since you state that you have an aftermarket belt, I would start there. I have not found an aftermarket belt that does not cause issues. You can also check for dirty clutches or broken motor mounts.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Since you state that you have an aftermarket belt, I would start there. I have not found an aftermarket belt that does not cause issues. You can also check for dirty clutches or broken motor mounts.
I have the original belt but I'll check the mount and alignment first

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Front mount is broken. I'll replace it and give it a try and if that doesn't fix it, OEM belt goes back on. I still have the original that's like new.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ordered 2 napa mounts today for the ford falcon. $3.49 a piece. Figured I'd throw a spare in my box. Going to pull the belt cover today and see what's going on

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #7