Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to 4 wheelers so I apologize early. When I bought my 2014 570 I bought my girlfriend a used 2009 sportsmen 550 with 24 hours on it. test drove it and it ran great. Anyway I have noticed more lately that when I place it in reverse and attempt to apply throttle it idles up higher but nothing happens then it jerks real hard and goes. Makes backing up a pain, scared shit out backing off my truck bed. Once it goes if you let off to slow down it stops till you get the engine idles up high again. Im not apllying huge amounts of throttle just above idle. Is normaly for this model to have lag when applyiong the throtle then it just pops like you dropped the clutch. I seem to notice it in forward to a little and in low range alot more.

My 2014 Sportsmen 570 is smooth as slik.

·
Registered
5,753 Posts
Very common complaint on the entire xp line. Only fix its too change the clutching in them. The qsc clutch kits will drastically reduce the harsh engagement in reverse as well as forward. It will also improve the low end and mid range power band and the backshift to keep power band on tap instantly. I have them in sick and ready to ship at $219 plus shipping. Takes about an hour and a half to put in and dies not require removal of the primary clutch.

·
Registered
1,465 Posts
You know to hold the Yellow button on the left hand grip?? (reverse override button). Without holding it, reverse just RPM's up with no real power.

If not..You are experiencing the dreaded delayed engagement that the 550's offer there customers. Over time it gets better and less jerky, But ultimately guys are putting in clutch kits or swapping out springs/weights to combat the problem.

Here is a thread on a fix for delayed engagement for cheap.
http://www.polarisatvforums.com/forums/polaris-xp/14735-550-xp-harsh-clutch-engagement-fix.html

·
Registered
619 Posts