Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. I have a 2010 Polaris Sportsman 500 HO that is having some issues, I have tried all the basic stuff and nothing has worked, so here I am asking for you help. The machine has less than 400 miles on the odometer and 53 hours on the clock. I don't ride it every day, but try to at least let it run every week or so. The ATV will start up and idle just fine, however when you push on the throttle it seems to bog down, lose power, and then it will backfire, sometimes even shooting sparks out of the exhaust. I have done all of the following with no luck..
-Changed spark plug
-Changed in-line fuel filter
-Changed air filter
-Ran brand new Ethanol-Free gas along with Seafoam to clear things out.
-Cleaned the carberator and checked fuel lines for plugs.

It seems like its either not getting enough spark?? or its either getting too much or not enough gas. I'm not a mechanic or anything, just trying to get the perfect balance of fuel, air and spark and something is off. Any ideas on what it could be? I took apart what I believe is the fuel pump, which was bolted onto the side of the frame with 3 hoses attached to it, one from the tank, one to the carberator and another what I believe is a vacuum hose. Everything in the pump appears to be intact, it has some springs on little things that look like suction cups, it appears that the membrane moves and allows fuel through? When I ran the machine on idle some gas was being pumped through, and then when I revved up the machine a little more came out, but I was told gas should be gushing out and it wasnt really, which makes me wonder if its not getting enough fuel and my fuel pump is bad. A couple other thoughts that I had that may or may not be applicable.

-Bad PCV valve?