Polaris ATV Forum banner

Have you ever seen this part fail like this?

• Yes

Votes: 1 3.6%
  • No

Votes: 27 96.4%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Everyone,

I'm new to quads, and the forum. Traded my Jeep for an almost new 2012 Polaris Sportsman 500 HO as it says in the title. It had 23hrs, 180 miles on it. It now has about 27hrs, and 210 miles. Got into the trail today to ride with some of my friends kids, and 30 seconds in.... SNAP. I fly off and roll 3 times and a nice tree stops the quad from landing on me.

Being new to riding, I figured I hit a rock or something. Nope! As the pictures show, the cast part of the strut assembly failed completely and broke right in two.

Being honest, I don't think I beat on the quad that hard in my few hours of riding time since I got it. Climbed a few big rocks, and got maybe a few inches off the ground once or twice. Used to do a lot of serious off road with my Jeep. The previous owner definitely didn't either. There were 0 scratches anywhere on the thing when I got it last weekend. One small crack on the rear plastic from bumping a tree.

Has anyone ever seen a failure like this? My buddies that have ridden quads all their lives have not. And they have been around for a few years.

I'm going to call Polaris about this tomorrow when their customer service is open. I don't think this part should have failed, and my almost new quad looks like it was in Iraq with me.... both times. At least I didn't get hurt!

Thanks for any input ahead of time, and I'm sad that this is my first post!

-Colt

Attachments

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
HOLY @#$%!!! Hope you and kids are OK. Good luck with Polaris on that. Never heard of it happening out of nowhere. It may have been previously damaged and just now gave out??

Sent from my MB886 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
1,963 Posts
That's the type of failure you might see in a recall. What is the build date on your quad?