Polaris ATV Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently picked up a 2012 850 xp with low hrs and km. The machine is in great shape but the only issue I'm encountering is the shifter being tight while it's running.

I'm new to atvs and have done alot of reading on forums and I'm getting mixed reviews on the possible issues.

The belt is tight and sitting high on the secondary clutch. I've tried both adding and removing a couple of shims and it doesn't seem to help.

My next step is going to be blowing off and brake cleaning the primary clutch to see if there's any issues with it.

Any experience or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2008 800 ho efi, 2019 850 SP premium
8,614 Posts
Welcome to the forum

·
Premium Member
2008 800 ho efi, 2019 850 SP premium
8,614 Posts
I don't see anything wrong with the picture you posted. That's normal for the Bell to ride that high in a secondary.

Hard shifting complaint is normally the one way bearing has seized up inside the primary clutch. Try shifting it with the engine shut off if it shifts smoothly then you just found your problem you need to replace the one-way bearing inside the primary clutch.

·
Premium Member
12,615 Posts
Hard shifting can be caused be a one-way bearing that has seen better days. But there are a few other issues that will cause the hard shif while the machine is running. High idle, mis aligned primary and secondary, and partially engaged primary and/or secondary due to either debris from a blown belt or a mechanical inside the clutches.

Reactions: Gmartino100

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
Im guessing your talking about the secondary clutch shims ??is the belt spinning while engine running?? did you check out this thread?? You can skip to post #17 and go from there

·
Premium Member
2017 Sportsman 850SP
2,032 Posts
1. See if you can shift easily with the machine off vs on.