Polaris ATV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening,

hopefully someone can steer me in the right direction….

I got this thing in trade. It will not start. After sitting for a bit it will run for a few seconds then die and Won’t start at all.
I have replaced the injectors, replaced the fuel, and bypassed the fuel filter to rule that out.
I am not a diesel mechanic, so I could use some education.
The lift pump is pumping fuel, but it is making noise.

I am really hoping it isn’t the injection pump.
Also, the throttle pedal seems to have no effect during the few seconds it runs.
Thanks

·
Premium Member
2008 800 ho efi, 2019 850 SP premium
8,614 Posts
Welcome to the forum

·
Registered
15 Posts
I work with Yanmar engines a lot. What model is it? Does it have an ECU? Sounds like it’s got a bad fuel pump relay or bad fuel pump solenoid.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I work with Yanmar engines a lot. What model is it? Does it have an ECU? Sounds like it’s got a bad fuel pump relay or bad fuel pump solenoid.
Thank you for responding… I will definitely check. I think I may have found the issue… perhaps you can confirm. As I said, the lift pump is making noise, but still pumping. However, I decided to put my finger over the hose to see what kind of pressure it had, and it fell flat… apparently, when a load is introduced to the pump it just loses all pressure.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I’m assuming it is a electric lift pump. They do make noise when running. When pressure is built the noise will change. It kinda flattens out as pressure is built

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I’m assuming it is a electric lift pump. They do make noise when running. When pressure is built the noise will change. It kinda flattens out as pressure is built