Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone this is my first time posting on this forum. I have had a few sportsman atv's including a 850 xp which I sold this spring when I bought my RZR xp 900. Anyway my dad also has a 850 xp that he rolled a couple years ago and the throttle was pinned for a very short time while it was upside down. I replaced all the broken parts on the machine and it has ran fine until a few months ago when the engine literally exploded. We are thinking that it blew up from when it ran upside down. It punched a couple of holes in the block and when I look inside with a flashlight all I can see is complete carnage. Connecting rod pieces and piston chunks everywhere. From what I can see from the holes the cylinders have deep gouges in them. This engine is pretty much just a boat anchor now and my dad just wants to put a new crate engine in. The problem is Polaris has stopped making crate engines for 2010 850's but they do make them for the 2013's. Are the engines the same? Will it bolt right up? Any info would be great! Thanks a lot for any replies.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also what does a Polaris short block replacement engine include? From the picture it looks like it is a complete engine minus all fuel and electrical components. When I think short block that means no head but I am hoping that this would come with it.

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board. :med:

·
Registered
593 Posts
Well the short block shows -2012-2014, but the case assembly, which would be the mounts, show 09-13. Not sure what the difference in the short block assembly is. Motor mounts are the same on 2011-2014.

·
Registered
1,360 Posts