Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there guys...will 28x10x12 in the front and 28x12x12 in the rear fit my 2010 Sportsman 500 with 4+3 offset rims? I'm new to this so sorry if it's a stupid question but do I need to upgrade my axles when I go that big of tires? and will 28's bog down a 500's motor?

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
The motor will be fine, but I strongly suggest some CVT upgrades!!

As for axles, the larger tire will add to the stresses on the axles, but what really kills them is the angles they have to operate at. Unless your in gumbo mud and the stresses there will also not do them any good either. :)

CW

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
CVT upgrades? Like clutch and torque springs?

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
CVT upgrades? Like clutch and torque springs?
A clutch kit thats designed to overcome the forces created by a larger diameter, heavier and more aggressive tread tire.

Dalton, EPI and hi-lifter are a couple that come to mind but there are many others out there.

CW

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the input CW

·
Registered
5,753 Posts
If you do the tires and want a clutch kit, let me know. I recently became a dealer for qsc and have kits in stock for your application ready to ship. $219 shipped.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Sounds great Ridinagain, I'm looking at doing it this winter and am just making sure what I need.

·
Registered
193 Posts
I've got 28 (11/9) zillas on my 09 550xp oem steel wheels. I've broken off several of the little inside nubs on the tires rubbing on the (torsion bar?) I'm guessing you're going to be close on rubbing too. I just replaced all the bushings and hope this helps too.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I was looking into the 27's at first but I was thinking the 28's would be a better buy for a few more bucks per tire...I'm assuming with 27's it would also be a good idea for a clutch kit?

·