Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, im looking at buying a sportsman. ive rode a few 500s before but never have rode a 400. im looking at a 05 400 and i was wondering if im goin to be disapointed with a 400 as far as power or anything else goes? i will be using it for hunting, hualing my portable ice shack and gear around and trail ridding. thanks guys.

·
Registered
39 Posts
I have no experience with the 500 but I do own a 2005 400 and I love it. I have had it on several trips over 6500 ft. altitude with no starving or power problems. I'm about 180 lbs myself, haul quite a bit of gear in the trunk and front rack and it suits me fine.
My riding buddy has a 700 and I have no trouble keeping up at all. Best of all on three recent 60+ mile trips I have averaged over 25 MPG each time and all included quite a bit of 4x4 mountain climbing, one in 18-24" of snow and mud at 6400 feet and another following switchbacks down into the bottom of a canyon and back.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
alright thanks guys. im looking at a 2004.5 sportsman 400. has about 250 miles on it with a polaris winch and a aftermarket bumper for $3500. he also has aftermarket itp wheels and some mud tires for it also for extra money

·
Registered
39 Posts
I paid $3500 for my 2005 400 Sportsman two weeks before this past Thanksgiving. It has 1100 miles on it and had a Warn 2500 lb winch, the rear trunk with the smaller accessory bags on it and is street legal, emissioned and licensed. Looks like your is very similar. I might add the suspension was upgraded, the lighting was improved and the front rack includes inside storage between the 2004 and 2005, not sure which yours is but I held out for the 2005 even though I found a couple 2004's priced slightly less.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6