Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone, I'm a novice at troubleshooting this old 250 4x4 Trailboss which I have had since it was new. It has generally been pretty reliable but in it's later years would be very difficult to start and sometimes it would die and very hard to restart and then it would not start at all. Recently, my son checked the compression and it was very low. He rebuilt the engine. It's back together now and we can't start it. Same story as before rebuild. I suspect an electrical issue. Have weak spark. Shot of ether directly into cylinder or directly into carb with air filter box removed and throttle open and zero response. I am cranking the unit with the electric start. Thinking it is a spark issue since Ether does nothing. I performed the following checks:

* Secondary (Ignition) Coil - Primary side- Primary Tab to Ground Tab = 3.5 ohm (recommended .3 to .5 ohm)
* Secondary (Ignition) Coil - Secondary side resistance - High Tension wire (cap removed) to Ground Tab = 5950 Ohm (recommended 6300 ohm +/- 10%
* Spark Plug cap resistance = 4700 ohm (recommended 3700 to 6300 ohm)
* Resistance of the entire Ignition coil, plug wire, plug cap assembly (ground tab to inside of plug cap) = 10690 ohm (I found no spec on this)
STATOR COIL RESISTANCE
* Exciter Coil = 99 ohm (recommended is 120 ohm +/- 10%)
* Lighting Coil = .5 ohm (recommended is .3 ohm +/- 10%)
* Checked Reverse speed limiter (black, yellow and green wires all are open to ground and white measured 630 ohm to ground
* Reverse override switch measures to be "normally closed" between green and purple wires and it opens when the button is depressed.
* The throttle safety switch is also always "closed" when I checked it