Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am only 15 years old but I work on a farm a ways away. This sportsman 500 is my main way of getting there, but this last Saturday I was driving probably around 25 mph and took a small corner and the engine started to strain. I thought that the engine was just cold as it was 0 - 10 degrees out. But after about another hundred feet the engine was really bogged down and I left off the throttle a little and it stalled and hasn't started since. We have somewhat cleaned the carb and there is plenty of gas. I just don't know what to make of this as I am not an expert. Any help is appreciated.

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!

·
Registered
424 Posts
Was it making any noise, did it come to a quicker than usual stop, does it turn over and sound like it normally does when starting; check for spark.

·
12,004 Posts
If the engine started to "strain" as in tightening up, I'd drain the oil in a clean container and check it for particles and/or fuel/coolant contamination.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It didn't make any noise other than running itself and when it stopped it wasn't quick it was as if the gas stopped flowing yet the pump is working fine. It also tries to turn over but again the gas just seems to not make it out of the carb and there is no "start". The spark plug is a little blackened but still supplies a consistent spark too. For the gas line antifreeze, my dad picked up some "polar" brand at a gas station. Is this good or should I use something better like sea foam? Thanks for all the replies.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Can you get it inside to warm it up? If not try a bit of starter fluid into the intake to see if it farts, this may eliminate the gas delivery as a problem.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #8