Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was getting just a click when I turned the ignition key, so after reading some threads within this forum, I decided to take a look inside the starter to see what I could see. I'm no electrician, especially when it comes to auto electrical systems, and I've never torn apart a starter before, so my terminology may be a bit strange . . . if so, please forgive me.

Anyway, I removed it from the bike, and took it apart. The splined shaft that meshes with the pullstart flywheel is extremely rusty. After disassembly, I noticed the brush connected to the positive stud is noticeably shorter than the other brush. Both brushes are a little grrr'd up with slight nicks and scratches in them. Here's my questions . . .

1. Can I wire brush the rusty splined shaft and then put a little grease on it once I reassemble this little beast and re-install it into the flywheel, or is greasing it a bad idea?

2. Is the fact that the brushes are different lengths my main problem with this starter (the battery is only a couple of months old).

3. Is there somewhere I can find or order new brushes only, or should I just go with DB Electric (or similar vendor) and order another starter?

4. What the hell is the "bendix," what does it do, and do I need to replace it on this bike? Some threads I've read recommended replacing it since the starter is already off.

Thanks for any info you can spare, and for your patience and time.

Regards,
Ed

·
Registered
3,417 Posts
Buy a new starter from dbelectrical I have purchased several and all work great. The bendix is the stater drive. To replace it you have to remove the recoil assembly. It is the gear that the stater spins and it engages connecting the gear to the flywheel making the engine rotate. Wire brush the flywheel and gears free of rust. Doing this will prevent the bendix from staying engaged.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4