Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm wondering how exactly this works. I haven't noticed much of a difference between 4x4 and 4x4 adc. The manual states to use it whenever climbing or descending a hill. Already seems like there is a lot of engine braking. I see there is a fluid reservoir for the adc so it got me questioning how it works. Is there harm being done not using it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
223 Posts
I'm no expert and someone who knows more will probably chime in but my understanding is when descending a steep hill if will automatically apply the brakes in addition to the engine braking system. I don't really use mine unless it's a super steep hill.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
553 Posts
From my experience the ADC control is for very steep hills. I hardly use mine as there seems to be engine breaking as it is.
The only way to wreck your machine when using it is if you leave it on when your just driving normally. Although I wouldn't use it going uphill either.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've gone down some pretty steep hills and really noticed no difference. I didn't know if I was harming the cvt by not using it, so if that's not that case I'd rather not use it unless absolutely necessary to avoid accidentally leaving it on during normal driving.

·
Registered
343 Posts
EBS is rear wheel engine braking, ADC is front wheel engine braking.
You should notice a big difference in how fast your atv comes to a stop.
If you start down a very steep slippery hill and the rear wheels are sliding, you can turn on ADC and then the front wheels will hold back also. ADC connects the front wheels to the engine, nothing to do with the brakes.
Other brand atvs have 4 wheel engine braking if in 4wd, since Polaris uses AWD the front wheels don't hold back unless ADC equipped.

·
Registered
553 Posts