Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an engineering student doing research for a class in where we have to identify different needs from ATV owners and I'm looking for ATV enthusiasts who can answer some questions in hopes of being able to identify those pains.Below I will put those questions, really hope to hear your responses it would be a lot of help!
  • Have you ever sustained an injury from this vehicle?
  • Have you ever been in an ATV related accident? If so, how?
  • When owning an ATV what is the most important function when maintaining this type of vehicle?
  • Has your vehicle ever broken down while in use? If so, what was the issue?
  • How do you decide which product you should buy?
  • What is a reasonable price that you would pay for an ATV? Why?
  • What's the most expensive thing that you have purchased for your vehicle?
  • What is something you wish you had?
  • What is something you must have?

·
Premium Member
7,483 Posts
Always glad to help an aspiring engineering student!!!!

1- yes I rolled my ATV and it landed on me.
2- yes, see above answer.
3- accessibility.
4-things break all the time but the only instance I consider a break down is a tow out. I've been towed once and it was due to a broken starter.
5- research.
6- I just bought and modded an $18k ATV. For what it is I guess it's reasonable. The why would be it's capabilities.
7- wheels and tires.
8- more suspension travel.
9- skid plates.

·
Premium Member
3,625 Posts
My wife and I own a number of ATVs and a UTV so answers are based on experiences with the current fleet.

No injury from the machine itself. I have been injured due to my actions on the machine. I chose a wrong line on an obstacle and twisted my ankle.

No ATV related accidents