Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 2004 sportsman 600 and lately my battery symbol on my display has been coming on. for a while it would turn off for a few seconds when i turned on my lights but then turned back on and the atv would still start but i noticed the battery was getting weaker and weaker and now it is dead. i used my multimeter to check voltage at the battery with the atv running and i had about 11.5 volts at 4000rpm. i work on small engines for a living and know there should be at least 14 volts. i dont know whether it could be the stator or the rectifier/regulator. has anyone else ever had this problem or not but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
494 Posts
Seven year old battery. Hmmm The battery specs are in here somewhere. I posted them.

·
Registered
601 Posts
umm....replace the battery or try to charge it and then do your tests...with a weak battery you should know that your not going to get the voltage from it...Make sure the battery is good....then maybe we can help you...Muddie49

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i replaced my battery about a year ago. i am currently in the process of trickle charging it for a while to see if i can get it charged to run my tests again.

a guy i work with also said i should be getting about 40-42 ac amps coming out if the stator before the rectifier. if im not then the stator is bad. are these numbers correct?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #5