Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I blew the piston seal out of my rear brake caliper on my 2013 trail boss. I found one at almost half price, it will be here next friday. I have never installed a piston seal before, do i just slide the old one out and slide the new one in? I am a diesel mechanic, i'm sure i can figure it out, just wanting to get some info before i jump into it.

also on the 2013 trail boss the front brake lever controls front and rear brakes. I plan on removing the line from the front lever to back brakes and cap off the holes, I don't see a reason why it would cause a problem, just wanting to know if anyone has tried this before.

any help appreciated, thanks!

also i run ebc severe duty brake pads, and i go through a set on the rear in about 2 or 3 rides, aren't these supposed to be the best for mud?

·
Registered
326 Posts
This was out of manual. Be sure to but some brake fluid before putting back in the new seals. Also dont push the piston in in a twisting motion. Bleed brakes for both master cylinders for brake lever and foot brake and you should be good to go. Good luck

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank You So Much, So Just Pull It Out, Change O Rings And Seal And Slide Back In? Also Do You Have Any Clue If It Will Cause A Problem To Just Cap Off The Holes For The Line From Front To Back

·
Registered
326 Posts
If i were you i wouldnt mess with my brakes. Brakes are a very essential component imagen loosing your brakes giong fast down a hill. But its up to you if you really want to do that. Oh and for the pads wearing fast. Jack up the front end and spin the wheels make sure there not dragging.

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
Are you using the rear/foot brake a lot?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #8