Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please excuse my "newb-ness". I am new to ATV's and am looking to buy one and looking hard at the Sportsman 570 EFI. I would mainly be riding on cut trails, logging roads, farm land, some heavy mud but not deep and an occasional shallow creek crossing. I wouldn't be towing anything but may do some gravel driveway maintenance if I can find a box spreader that can do an adequate job. Pretty basic stuff really, no high-speed running or boggin. i generally take good care of my gear too so I'll keep maintenance up on anything I get.

I realize this is a Polaris forum but most of the posters seem to have a lot of experience on various brands and models so I hope I can get some good advice. I've narrowed my choices down to either a Sportsman 570 EFI or a Suzuki Kingquad 500 AXI.

In I like the "extra" features of the Polaris (3 headlights[mod], storage) but the Suzuki feels a little more sturdy. I also like the shifter placement because I'm a tall guy (6'4") and picture my knee jamming into the shifter on the polaris when I have an extra rider. It also has the locking differential which seems like one of those things you won't use often but be glad you have it when you do. I also like the 12mo warranty of the suzuki and they're doing a 5yr 0% financing right now.

After leaning towards the Sportsman Ive started favoring the Suzuki but am not sure. I can get the suzuki for about $500 more, which while minimal is still a sizable chunk of cash.

Any thoughts on one or the other? Again, I expect a Polaris bias but appreciate honest feedback.

Thanks,

·
Registered
60 Posts
I was in the same situation.. I guess ride them both but the ride of the sportsman did it for me and the price.. I had a Suzuki vinsion at one time and it was a reliable quad but rode like a brick.. Take your time compare them both good luck..

·
Registered
619 Posts