Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to owning a four wheeler and new to these boards. I have a 2017 Polaris Sportsman 850 SP. It has about 16 engine hours on it. Recently the check engine light came on and I tried to follow the manual to access the diagnostic codes, however, it does not appear as an option. Maybe I am doing something wrong or don't understand the manual somehow. I have turned the key to the on position. The check engine light stays on. I then go into options and scroll to look for DIAGCODE. However, it does not appear, so I cannot read the code to know what I am dealing with. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Right. Well. That was helpful. I read the manual. If I'm not understanding maybe you could post a clarifying response instead of just being snotty for no reason.

·
Registered
720 Posts
Hold the mold button until the first option pops up and then hit the down button 1 time and it should show diagcode option and hit the mode button again to select it. Your owners manual will have a list of codes to look at after if find out what they are. Are you having any trouble out of the Sportsman when the check engine light is on?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Steve. Thanks for the reply. I don't notice any difference in how it's running now that the check engine light came on. If not for the light I wouldn't know there was a problem. I am unfortunately away from the machine right now but can get back to it tomorrow. So are you saying what I was doing wrong was going into the options menu, as in the normal settings, but if I hold the mode button longer it will go into another menu where I can access diagcode? I did see the codes listed in the manual and that's what I was trying to find so I could reference it and at least get an idea of what is going on.

·
Registered
720 Posts