Polaris ATV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this Bike, And the last one i owned was a yamaha 350 20+ years ago. I have a 2017 XP 1000 ( Bought Used) now has about 62 hours and almost 600 miles on it. I have no issues shifting it, sometimes might get binded that causes me to maybe rock it back and forth, but no issues. I guess I'm not sure on the amount of force that it should take to shift. sometimes, it's like butter, sometimes I have to apply more force, but nothing that has me saying "Damn, I can't shift this thing.

This weekend my daughter wanted to put around at like 3 MPH. She could not shift to save her life. Is it the size of the machine that makes it it tougher to shift, or should i look into and aftermarket clutch kit?

Looking for thoughts or input, maybe I'm looking to deep into something that is normal. :)

·
Premium Member
2008 800 ho efi, 2019 850 SP premium
15,182 Posts
One-Way beraing in the Primary Clutch is binding up.

Old One-Way
Land vehicle All-terrain vehicle Vehicle Automotive tire Tire

New OneWay
Wheel Automotive tire Tire Metalworking Machine tool

#2 in parts diagram
Product Font Auto part Parallel Diagram

Reactions: Modern44

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
One-Way beraing in the Primary Clutch is binding up.

Old One-Way
View attachment 148109

New OneWay
View attachment 148110

#2 in parts diagram
View attachment 148111
Is this common to go so fast if this is the case? I am not in the area of thinking i may get stuck, but more curious. I've seen videos of just swapping this bearing out and it seems straight forward. If i do this, would it benefit me to put in an upgraded kit? Kill two birds with one stone I guess

·
Premium Member
15,182 Posts
That picture is my bearing from a 2019 850 sp Premium at 855 miles

• Wow
Reactions: Doc8404

·
Premium Member
15,182 Posts
If it shifts easy with the engine shut off, and hard when running its the One-Way bearing

·