Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got my QSC clutch kit and it's my first time doing this mod. My question is where do you place the shim, between the spyder and primary spring or between the spring and primary cover?

Did a search and could only find info on using both shims. I just want to run the thick shim and didn't want to put it on the wrong side of the spring.

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Ridinagain will chime in but you put it in against the clutch and put the spring on top of it. Not sure if it makes any difference in the long run but this its the easiest way to do it.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok, thanks guys. I thought that's what the instructions ment,just wanted to be sure.

Cant wait to see the difference:veryhappy:

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
After reading another thread I'm second guessing the thick shim and maybe just going with the thin shim. I ride hard pack and mud what do you guys think?

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
I went with the thin shim. I like the lower RPM engagement.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
I went with the thin shim. I like the lower RPM engagement.
Right on, will it still lift the front end up if you goose it?
I have absolutely no idea. It feels like it might but as there is 3 feet of snow and the roads are slicker than a strippers cleavage. When this Mini Ice Age is over I plan to get out where I can get some traction and see.

I have two and only one QSC so I will be able to give a good side by side comparison. I will tell you that it smoothed out the engagement a ton.

·
Registered
3,230 Posts
I have the large shim right now and am going to pull it out in spring. I got used to it, but it feels like a sled, you have to rev it so high.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Maybe I will start with the small shim, thanks for the input guys.

·
Registered
5,753 Posts