Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The last couple of rides I have been getting a lot of feed back from the front end when 4x4 is on, and I'm in a sticky situation like in muck and the front end is under stress - usually at bad angles. The loud knocking is also accompanied by kick back in the steering as the front end is turning.
I'm no expert but I'm fairly certain it is coming from the CV joints being at such bad angles.
Is there anything that can be done to eliminate this?

Attachments

·
Registered
2,402 Posts
Do you have any idea what angle your 3" kit puts your axles at? I'm pretty sure the CATVOS 3" is designed so that you could technically run stock axles, which are good to around 30 degrees of angle. I know the DHT axle you are running is only good up to 36 degree angle. Pro series or gorilla are good to 40 degrees. If you think it is the axles binding, you only have a few options. Get new axles, get rid of the lift, or get a lift that puts the cv's at a better angle. Is there any chance that it is the front differential locking/unlocking or slipping under the stress? I know the new differentials are supposed to be stronger, but just something else to look at or consider.

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well you got me thinking now. Maybe front diff?

·
Registered
2,402 Posts
The fact that you are saying that it has happened numerous times, and the feeling with the kickback you are having in the steering, that's what I would look at. If your axles are not broke, I would be leaning more towards the diff. Axles will normally just break when bound up numerous times, and won't feel that harsh of a kickback in the steering. Start easy by draining the front diff fluid and see if you notice anything abnormal.

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #5