Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I removed the prop shaft from front diff by knocking out the pin slid it back and pulled it out forward as i saw in many videos which i am grateful for people who shared them. The splines on the rear drive shaft and the U-joint that slides on the rear drive shaft are worn slightly causing a knocking sound when riding due to excessive play. I was thinking that i can drill and tap each side of U joint put set screws in each side to center the U joint on the shaft removing the play. I really have nothing to lose because if it fails i will have to replace the U joint and rear drive shaft which would be the perfect fix anyways but more costly. I saw someone do this with a front U joint in a video. Has anyone else tried this and can you advise if it will work or can anyone advise me on another possible fix . I am new to the ATV world trying to fix my first one so i can actually enjoy it .Buyer beware or know what to look for when you purchase was my mistake. I am learning. Otherwise this Polaris works great has too many different fluids for my liking but i figured out what goes where . 20200508_005302.jpg 20200508_005316.jpg 20200508_005333.jpg
Thanks for any suggestion or advise in advance. The first picture is the closest U Joint i want to drill and tap to slide onto rear drive shaft.

·
Registered
179 Posts
I wouldn't do it. The real fix is to replace that yoke. By installing set screws, you're going to cause the transfer of torque to go from the splines (where it should be) to the set screws. They won't last long and will damage the male splines the shaft is mated to. You won't be able to accurately "center" the yoke either, and that will go away the first time you ride it. Splined yokes that have set screws usually mate to shafts that have a provision for the set screw. You're going to go through a lot of effort for no gain....I'd see about getting a new yoke and install it.

·