Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie and ready to purchase. I have been calling around Michigan to find any 2011 550's left, no EPS needed. I've found a Pursuit Camo 550 OTD for 7300.00. Not sure I want/need the Camo (400.00 add) or the EFI. Can get a 2011 500 HO OTD for 6000.00 What's a fair price for similar machines? Or do I bite for a 2012?

·
Registered
145 Posts
when you say OTD are you including tax?

·
Registered
145 Posts
I bought a 2011 850 non eps for right at 7 before tax.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, tax/title/orv. One dealer says he doesn't charge freight/setup fees, but is within a few bucks of one that does.

·
Registered
555 Posts
I'm a newbie and ready to purchase. I have been calling around Michigan to find any 2011 550's left, no EPS needed. I've found a Pursuit Camo 550 OTD for 7300.00. Not sure I want/need the Camo (400.00 add) or the EFI. Can get a 2011 500 HO OTD for 6000.00 What's a fair price for similar machines? Or do I bite for a 2012?
If you really want the 550, I would opt for the 2012. I took a test ride on a 2012. I'm not sure what Polaris did, but they did manage to refine the 550 a bit. It doesn't idle quite as high and rough, and doesn't have the drive line clunk that the 2009 (or 10 - can't remember) did that I drove. Although, maybe the 2011's were better too, but I can't verify that.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I don't think I need much more than the 550. 850 would be nice, but I'm on a budget and the extra mph/hp is really not an issue for me. It's mainly for hunting and ice fishing.

I visited another dealer near home here and they didn't seem to want to waive any dealer fees such as setup and freight, etc. I'm willing to travel an hour or two for a deal, but I'm still going to need service on it eventually.

What kind of luck have people had just calling dealers and making offers?

·
Registered
6 Posts