Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to ATV repairs and trying to help fix my neighbors 2014 Sportsman 850. His radiator fan turns on as soon as you turn the ignition key on. He replaced the thermistor, it still runs nonstop. We tried swapping relays to rule out a sticking relay. I boiled his old thermistor and saw it change from 2.5 k ohms to 200 ohms, the thermistor is fine, no shorts to ground. I metered 12 volts at the relay coil. I disconnected the thermistor connector on the bike and ran the yellow wire from the ecu through his old thermistor with 2.5 k ohms to ground, the fan still ran. The next move I am considering will be to disconnect the ecu and meter the yellow and violet conductors for open or short conditions (once I figure out how to disconnect it).
The bike also shows a high voltage code for the fan
While following the path of the violet wires looking for the ecu ground splice point, which we haven’t found yet, we were looking at the gear indicator switch which isn’t working on his bike and noticed a tiny amount of moisture in the switch at the base of the pins.
Would anyone have some tips to share in solving this puzzle?
- and no, I won’t quit my day job :)
Thanks

·
Premium Member
9,418 Posts
for shits and giggles test voltage at the battery terminals with the machine running @3,000rpm. should read 13.5-14.5vdc. reason for this is to establish the regulator isn't bad and creating issues. ok but your issue is the temp sensor on the head. when it goes bad the fan runs wild, or constantly.

·
Registered
89 Posts