Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Polaris and having an automatic. I've rode my whole life but after buying the polaris 570 any noise I hear makes me nervous. It has 5 hours and 60 miles on it. When I am riding around the yard and in the field and let off the throttle sometimes I hear a grinding noise. Sounds like it is coming from the front. It only does it when it is slowing down by itself. Should I have it checked out or is it part of the breaking in.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was thinking about it taking it in. Will call the dealership tomorrow. It doesn't do it all the time but when it does it just sounds like a grind for about 2-3 secs and goes away it did it once going down a step hill on our farm levee. May go away after the first flush and stuff but who knows. I'm use to foot shift Hondas and those things always purred like a kitten. I just went on a limb to get polaris since we have a ranger on the farm as well.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I have the same noise on my 2010 800. It's like a clanking noise. When slowing down and especially when going do hill. I was told that it's normal and that it's the belt and clutch moving. I was also told that adding engine braking makes it go away but it's an expensive upgrade.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
mine is doing the same thing ! I took it in today and they said its due to beefy gears and its normal
Sounds good, I will just keep an eye on it. If it "supposed" to do that than I will let it be. Like I said, it only does it when I let off the throttle and/or going down steep hills/levees.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Mine clunks while decelerating also. I don't believe there is any reasons to be concerned.

Kris

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Mine clunks while decelerating also. I don't believe there is any reasons to be concerned.

Kris